Ticketing

16-17/8 Fri-Sat 7:30pm
18/8 Sun 3pm

Auditorium, Ko Shan Theatre New Wing


stage

Price

 $340

 $260

 $160



With Chinese and English surtitles
Audience is strongly advised to arrive punctually. Latecomers will only be admitted at a suitable break.
Please refer to the 'Extension Activities' page for details of extension activities



Programme Enquiries: 2268 7325

Ticketing Enquiries: 3761 6661

Credit Card Telephone Booking: 2111 5999

Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk


Please click here for discount scheme details.


Ou Opera, originally known as Wenzhou luantan, is one of the regional theatrical genres. It was inscribed onto the second listing of National Intangible Cultural Heritage of China in 2008. It consists of both civil and martial repertories, with the former distinguished by delicate singing and the latter, uniquely devised stunts. The vocal styles are diverse, so the emotive spectrum covers grand, impassioned as well as quaint and restrained expressions.
On its visit to Hong Kong, the Wenzhou Opera Research Institute will present three full-length productions, The Legend of the White Snake, Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband and Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun. The cast will be led by two leading lights in Ou Opera today: Fang Rujiang, winner of the Plum Blossom Award for Chinese Theatre, and Cai Xiaoqiu, winner of the Lead Actor Award at the Shanghai Magnolia Performing Arts Award. The Legend of the White Snake is a classic in Ou Opera, known for the balanced focus on both singing and acting. In The Broken Bridge from this classic, Fang Rujiang won the first Plum Blossom Award in the history of Ou Opera with his portrayal of the male protagonist, Xu Xian. Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband is one of the four major nanxi (Southern Opera) plays of China. Sharing the origin with the nanxi of the Song and Yuan period, the Ou Opera of Wenzhou retains the age-old elements but gives it a new adaptation. The staging also models upon the old nanxi with impressive effects. Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun tells the story of a pair of lovers who, despite social class differences, dares to challenge the feudal inhibitions. Their tragic love story has been a folklore popularly told in the Zhejiang area. After being written into the Ou Opera repertory, it has won rave response from audiences all over China.

16/8 (Fri) 7:30pm

The Legend of the White Snake



Award for Chinese Theatre and renowned Ou Opera performer, will both direct and star in this production. This Production not only follows the classical tradition but also aims to pare down the unnecessary side stories in order to achieve a lucid tale of romantic love. The staging is minimalistic yet poetic and at the same time refreshingly innovative. It accurately captures the lyricism of the water-logged scenic region south of the Yangtze River called ‘Jiangnan’. In terms of formulaic performance, equal emphasis is placed on vocal delivery and acting as well as the civil and military elements of presentation that are typical of Ou Opera. There is an exquisite beauty that runs throughout the play and appeals to both intellectual and popular taste. It is therefore an important means to understanding the genre and Chinese opera culture.

The White Snake decides to morph into human forms with the Green Snake to explore the human realm. On a visit to the Broken Bridge on Hangzhou’s West Lake, under the identities of Bai Suzhen and Xiao Qing, they meet Xu Xian, who has just returned from sweeping his ancestors’ graves. It is love at first sight for Xu Xian and Suzhen. The Green Snake, now called Xiaoqing, plays matchmaker and the two become a couple. On the day of the Dragon Boat Festival, Monk Fahai, who has been tracking down Suzhen in order to catch her, lures Xu into bringing home realgar wine to share with his wife. Suzhen drinks the wine and loses her human form. Xu sees his wife’s snake form, he dies of a shock. Suzhen ventures into the mountains to steal the celestial herb and revives Xu. Fahai traps Xu in Jinshan Temple. When Suzhen demands Fahai to return her husband, the two fight a grueling battle, shaking the heaven and earth. Xu flees from Jinshan Temple to the West Lake of Hangzhou where he sees Suzhen and Xiaoqing retreating to the Broken Bridge. Xiaoqing blames Xu for his heartlessness and threatens to kill him. Suzhen reproaches him on his ingratitude. Xu admits his wrongs and pledges his fidelity. The three reconcile and continue their trip to Hangzhou.



Main Cast: Fang Rujiang, Cai Xiaoqiu / Zhang Zhaowen, Wang Xiuli / Xu Yangyang, Shen Jiahui

The running time of the performance is approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes including an intermission of 15 minutes.

17/8 (Sat) 7:30pm

Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband



Wenzhou is known as the birthplace of nanxi (Southern Opera), the earliest form of Chinese opera to have reached full mature form. Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband is one of the four signature plays of Southern Opera, and exemplifies its staging and formulaic performance. Created in 1999 with Xie Ping’an as director, it has been recognized as one of the most representative works in Ou Opera. The scenography focuses on reviving the ancient style, and retains the role of ‘the stagehand’ as used in ancient Southern Opera. The accompanying ensemble is also put on the stage so that the musicians are part of the performance. Also, with the actors freely engaging in and disengaging themselves from the roles they play, it demonstrates the sophisticated theatrical art of Southern Opera. The rather depressing story is given comic relief so as to turn the theatre experience into that of ‘absurd comedy’, and allow the audience to rethink the ways of the world.

The Sun family is made up of two brothers: the younger brother Sun Rong is righteous and eager to learn; the elder, Sun Hua, being the master of the house, is dissipated and undisciplined although he has the luck to marry a kind-hearted, intelligent wife Yang Yuezhen. Sun Hua befriends idlers like Hu Zichuan and Liu Longqing, and becomes a libertine. His friends instigate conflicts between the brothers, and so under their influence, Sun Hua expels his younger brother from the house. In the hope to lead her husband back onto the right track, Yuezhen devises a plan to reveal people’s true intentions, by means of a dog carcass. She kills a dog, dresses the carcass in human clothes, and places it at the entrance of the house. When Sun Hua arrives home, he is terrified by the dead body and runs to seek help from his buddies, Hu and Liu. But now the two only give him a cold shoulder in return. On the contrary, his brother Sun Rong offers help without hesitation when Sun Hua turns to him. Later Hu and Liu even use this incident to blackmail Sun Hua. At this juncture, Yuezhen steps in and reveals the truth. By the different responses among his so-called buddies and his brother, Sun Hua finally comes to his senses and restores his relationship with his younger brother. They can now enjoy familial harmony again.



Main Cast: Fang Rujiang, Cai Xiaoqiu, Hu Tao

The running time of the performance is approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes including an intermission of 15 minutes.

18/8 (Sun) 3pm

Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun



The story of Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun is a popular tale in the folklore of Wenzhou, Zhejiang province. The story has been widely told in various forms, from Chinese opera to ‘mountain songs’, daoqing ballads, narrative singing with drum accompaniment of Wenzhou, glove puppet shows, novels, comic books, etc. in Zhejiang, Fujian, Guangdong and so on. Amongst all, the Ou Opera version of the story has exerted the highest influence. Since it was first staged more than 60 years ago, it has been staged for more than 400 times, and is still an audience favourite today. It features Yang Xiaoqing as director in this present newly revamped production. The singing is elegant and touching, the performance a fine mix of civil and military elements, and the story is heartrending. It is therefore a representative piece of Ou Opera as a National Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Silk worker Gao Ji, a native of Ping Yang, goes to Longquan to work as a helper at Wuji Silk Mill, owned by Wu Wenda. At the mill, he often exchanges techniques and knowledge on the art of weaving silk products with the owner’s daughter, Sanchun. Gradually out of their common interest, the two young people start admiring each other in their hearts. Wenda wishes to further prosper his business, so with the help of his sister Cuigu, he arranges to marry his daughter to a young silk distributor called Li Fu, who is the son of the owner of Huzhou Liji Silk Shop. When Gao Ji learns about Sanchun’s would-be marriage, he sadly leaves Longquan. Missing Gao Ji whom she deems as her true love, Sanchun feels brokenhearted. Hastily she leaves home to catch up with Gao Ji by boat. They meet again on an islet in the middle of the river in Wenzhou. There they open their hearts to each other and exchange their vows. When they are about to set out to Gao Ji’s hometown in Pingyang, Sanchun’s father and aunt arrive and force the lovers apart. Gao Ji is further falsely accused of theft and sent to prison. This romantic story takes place at the time when the commodity economy emerges, thereby imparting different value orientations in society. The story closes with a tragic ending on the Peach Blossom Range.



Main Cast: Fang Rujiang, Cai Xiaoqiu

The running time of the performance is approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes including an intermission of 15 minutes.



Information provided by Wenzhou Opera Research Institute


Ou Opera

Officially renamed as ‘Ou Opera’ in 1959 from the previous genre name of ‘Wenzhou luantan’, this regional theatrical genre has a history of more than 300 years and is popular in Wenzhou in southern Zhejiang. It was inscribed onto the second listing of National Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2008. As a performing art, it adopts the ‘written form of the Wenzhou dialect’ as the stage idiom. Some of the more popularly known titles in the traditional repertory are Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun, Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband, The Legend of the White Snake and the new play in modern costume, Young Orchid Plant. The music of Ou Opera is mainly luantan; in performance, it has already established a style that is simple, fast-paced, robust yet insightful. It embraces both civil and military repertories, with equal emphasis on singing and acting. The military plays assimilate local martial arts and fighting routines into breathtaking stunts. The spoken lines are delivered in a mixed vernacular that blends the Wenzhou dialect with Zhongzhou (Central Plains) tonal inflexions. Its music has a high-flung, flowing quality that can externalise the complex emotions of the characters.


Wenzhou Opera Research Institute

The Wenzhou Opera Research Institute (formerly the Wenzhou Ou Opera Troupe) was founded in 1959. In its early days, the troupe already built a huge and widespread following in the northern and southern regions of the Yangtze River with its repertory of Ou Opera classics such as Gao Ji and Wu Sanchun, Women Generals of the Yang Family etc. Later productions number close to one hundred, and cover both traditional and new repertories. The winning productions include Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband, Two Golden Seals, The Young Lady Named Qiu, Lu Bu and Diao Chan, The Story of the Jade Swallow, The Butterfly Cup, The Pearl Pagoda, Fifteen Strings of Cash, Purging of the Heart, When Oranges Are Ripe, Tale of the West Garden etc. Amongst them, Killing at the Restaurant and The Number One Scholar Zhang Xie had won the New Repertory and the Scriptwriting awards respectively at the Wenhua Performance Awards presented by the Ministry of Culture, and Killing a Dog to Admonish Her Husband won The 3rd Prize of the National Showcase of Local Operas, while other plays have won Outstanding Performance Awards, Outstanding Repertory Awards etc. at the Zhejiang Opera Festival. In recent years, the troupe has given touring performances in the United States, Germany, Holland, Italy, Switzerland etc. and everywhere it went, it had won critical acclaim.

House Programme


houseProgramme05

16-17/8 Fri-Sat 7:30pm Auditorium, Ko Shan Theatre New Wing
18/8 Sun 3pm Auditorium, Ko Shan Theatre New Wing
stage

Price

 $340

 $260

 $160

With Chinese and English surtitles
Audience is strongly advised to arrive punctually. Latecomers will only be admitted at a suitable break.
Please refer to the 'Extension Activities' page for details of extension activities

Programme Enquiries: 2268 7325
Ticketing Enquiries: 3761 6661
Credit Card Telephone Booking: 2111 5999
Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk

Please click here for discount scheme details.

Other Performances

Peking Opera Masters North and South: China National Peking Opera Company and Shanghai Jingju Theatre Company

  13-15/6, 17-19/6

Peking Opera Masters North and South: China National Peking Opera Company and Shanghai Jingju Theatre Company

Grand Theatre, Xiqu Centre, West Kowloon Cultural District

A New Cantonese Opera A Love Poem Stained with Blood

  21-22/6, 30/6

A New Cantonese Opera A Love Poem Stained with Blood

Grand Theatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre
Auditorium,Tuen Mun Town Hall

Guangdong Quadrangle – Four Folk Music Types in Concert

  25-26/6, 4-7/7

Guangdong Quadrangle – Four Folk Music Types in Concert

Theatre, Hong Kong City Hall
Tea House Theatre,Xiqu Centre,West Kowloon Cultural District

Experimental Theatre of Liyuan Opera of Fujian

  28-30/6

Experimental Theatre of Liyuan Opera of Fujian

Theatre, Hong Kong City Hall

Jiangsu Kunqu Opera Theatre

  19-21/7

Jiangsu Kunqu Opera Theatre

Grand Theatre, Xiqu Centre, West Kowloon Cultural District

Shanghai Yue Opera Group

  25-28/7

Shanghai Yue Opera Group

Grand Theatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre

The Fragrance of Chrysanthemums and Orchids – A Close Encounter of Peking Opera and Kunqu Opera: Jingkun Theatre and Shandong Peking Opera Theatre

  2-4/8

The Fragrance of Chrysanthemums and Orchids – A Close Encounter of Peking Opera and Kunqu Opera: Jingkun Theatre and Shandong Peking Opera Theatre

Tea House Theatre,Xiqu Centre,West Kowloon Cultural District

arrow arrow

票務詳情

8月16至17日 (五至六) 晚上7時30分
8月18日 (日) 下午3時

高山劇場新翼演藝廳


stage

票價

 $340

 $260

 $160



附中英文字幕
觀眾務請準時入座,遲到者須待適當時候方可進場。
附設其它延伸活動,詳情請參閱延伸活動版面



節目查詢 : 2268 7325

票務查詢 : 3761 6661

信用卡電話購票 : 2111 5999

網上購票 : www.urbtix.hk


按此瀏覽有關購票優惠


甌劇原名為「温州亂彈」,是浙江省傳統地方戲曲之一,於2008年被列入第二批國家級非物質文化遺產保護名錄。甌劇表演文武兼備,文戲唱腔細膩含蓄,武戲特技眾多且均顯獨到之處。甌劇結集多種聲腔的優點,構成既華麗激越,且古樸委婉的獨特風韵。
浙江省温州市甌劇藝術研究院將帶來三齣全劇《白蛇傳》、《殺狗記》及《高機與吳三春》,並由現今甌劇兩位領軍人物—中國戲劇梅花獎得主方汝將及上海白玉蘭戲劇表演藝術獎主角獎得獎者蔡曉秋領銜演出。經典甌劇劇目《白蛇傳》唱做皆重,飾演許仙的方汝將憑此劇中的〈斷橋〉摘下甌劇史上首個梅花獎。《殺狗記》為中國四大南戲之一,與宋元南戲同是發源於温州的甌劇繼承及保留了南戲的特色,此劇目由劇團重新編寫並以仿古南戲形式演繹,令經典之作倍添意義。《高機與吳三春》講述一對身分懸殊的男女追求愛情自由、衝破封建枷鎖的故事,此愛情悲劇在浙江省民間廣泛流傳,被編寫成甌劇後亦一度於全國引起熱烈迴響。

8月16日 (星期五) 晚上7時30分

 《白蛇傳》



甌劇《白蛇傳》由梅花獎得主、著名甌劇表演藝術家方汝將執導並主演。在劇情處理上,既遵循經典傳承又舉要刪蕪,著力謳歌浪漫愛情;在舞台呈現上,既簡約詩意又新穎別致,準確勾畫詩意江南;在表演程式上,既唱做並重又文武兼備,極具甌劇傳統特色。全劇唯美細膩、雅俗共賞,可謂是了解甌劇藝術和戲曲文化的重要載體。

白蛇白素貞與青蛇小青幻變人形結伴遊歷人間,在杭州西湖斷橋處,偶遇踏青掃墓歸來的許仙,互生愛慕之情。小青巧計成功撮合二人,白素貞與許仙結為夫妻。法海在端午節追查到素貞,誆騙許仙將特製的雄黃酒帶回家夫妻共飲,素貞一時難以維持人形,許仙看到原形畢露的妻子,受驚嚇而死。素貞冒險上山盜仙草救活了許仙。法海將許仙囚禁在金山寺。素貞前去索夫,雙方一場惡戰,驚天動地。許仙從金山寺慌逃下山,行至西湖斷橋恰遇素貞和小青。小青恨許仙負心,欲殺之,素貞親責許仙之薄倖,許仙賠罪明心,三人言歸於好,偕赴杭州。



主演:方汝將、蔡曉秋/鄭朝文、王秀麗/徐陽陽、沈家輝

節目長約2小時30分鐘,包括中場休息15分鐘。

8月17日 (星期六) 晚上7時30分

 《殺狗記》



温州作為中國戲曲最早的成熟形式「南戲」的發源地,有「戲曲故里」的美譽。《殺狗記》乃中國四大南戲之一,是南戲舞台呈現和表演程式的重要載體。甌劇《殺狗記》創排於1999年,由中國著名導演謝平安執導,是甌劇當家大戲之一。此戲在舞美設計上恢復了傳統古戲台風格,保留了古老南戲演出時「撿場人」這一角色,還將樂隊搬上舞台讓樂師參與演出,而演員則遊走於戲裡戲外。同時採用風趣幽默的形式來講述相對壓抑的劇情,讓觀眾置身於「荒誕喜劇」之中,直面世間百態、人情冷暖。

弟弟孫榮正直好學,當家的哥哥孫華浪蕩不羈,嫂嫂楊月真善良聰慧。孫華結交胡子傳、柳龍卿等酒肉朋友,在外面花天酒地,吃喝玩樂,同時又受到他們挑撥,把自己兄弟孫榮逐出家門。月真為了勸夫,想出一條妙計:殺死一條狗,穿戴起人的衣帽,偽裝死屍模樣,放在自家大門口,以狗屍檢測人心。孫華回家之後,見屍體大驚,於是向龍卿及子傳求救,兩人卻不予理會。孫華只好請求弟弟孫榮相助,孫榮慨然應允。後來龍卿及子傳居然向孫氏兄弟恐嚇索錢,月真說出事情始末,事件水落石出。面對胡子傳、柳龍卿與弟弟孫榮三人面對狗屍的不同表現,孫華終於如夢初醒、如飲醍醐。最後兄弟和好,闔家重得太平。



主演:方汝將、蔡曉秋、胡濤

節目長約2小時30分鐘,包括中場休息15分鐘。

8月18日 (星期日) 下午3時

 《高機與吳三春》



《高機與吳三春》是浙江温州地區的民間傳說,情感真摯、淒美動人。此故事以戲曲、山歌、道情、温州鼓詞、布袋戲、小說、連環畫等不同的藝術形式在浙江、福建、廣東等地廣為流傳,其中甌劇《高機與吳三春》影響最大,創排60餘年來已演出超過400場。新版甌劇《高機與吳三春》由中國著名戲曲導演楊小青指導,由梅花獎得主方汝將、白玉蘭獎得主蔡曉秋領銜主演。唱腔優雅動人、表演文武結合、情節扣人心弦,是國家非物質文化遺產甌劇的代表性劇目。

平陽織綢工高機前往龍泉,在吳記綢坊幫工,與綢坊主吳文達之女吳三春相處,切磋綢藝、商討織綢畫稿。歲月如流,共同的愛好使二人暗生情愫。吳文達為求事業發達,經其妹吳翠姑撮合,將女兒許配給絲綢經銷商湖州李記綢莊少東家李阜。高機聞之,黯然神傷,離開了龍泉。高機走後,三春悵然若失,自知所愛之人是高機而非李阜,毅然收拾行囊,乘舟追趕高機。二人在温州江心孤嶼相遇,山盟海誓,互訴衷腸。正欲攜手同去平陽時,吳文達、吳翠姑率家丁趕到,強行拆散了這美好的一對。高機被誣告偷盜之罪,含冤入獄。商品經濟萌芽期間,各人不同的價值取向編織了這齣愛情悲劇,最終在桃花嶺頭上演了悲慘的一幕。



主演:方汝將、蔡曉秋

節目長約2小時30分鐘,包括中場休息15分鐘。

資料由浙江省温州市甌劇藝術研究院提供


甌劇

甌劇定名於1959年,原名為「温州亂彈」,是浙江省傳統地方戲曲劇種之一,已有三百多年歷史,是流行在浙江南部温州一帶的古老劇種,並於2008年被列入第二批國家級非物質文化遺產名錄。它以「書面温話」作為舞台語言,較有影響力的傳統劇碼有《高機與吳三春》、《殺狗記》、《白蛇傳》以及原創的現代戲《蘭小草》等。甌劇以唱亂彈為主,表演上已形成統一的藝術風格,具有樸素、明快、粗獷而細膩的特點。文武兼備,唱做並重,以做工見長。武戲吸收民間拳術和武技,緊湊驚險。甌劇語音是温州方言加中州韻,俗稱「亂彈白」,而其音樂明快流暢、表現力強,能細緻地表達各種人物內心複雜情感。


浙江省温州市甌劇藝術研究院

温州市甌劇藝術研究院(原温州市甌劇團)成立於1959年,早年劇團曾以《高機與吳三春》、《楊門女將》等經典甌劇風靡大江南北,後期創作了《殺狗記》、《雙金印》、《仇大姑娘》、《呂布與貂蟬》、《玉燕記》、《蝴蝶杯》、《珍珠塔》、《十五貫》、《洗心記》、《橘子紅了》、《西園記》等近百個傳統及新編劇目,並榮獲多個獎項包括:憑《酒樓殺場》及《張協狀元》分別獲得國家文化部文華獎新節目獎及劇作獎、憑《殺狗記》獲得全國地方戲優秀劇目評比展演三等獎,並憑不同劇目多次獲得浙江省戲劇節優秀演出獎及優秀劇目獎等。近年劇團亦多次到訪美國、德國、荷蘭、意大利、瑞士等地演出交流,並獲得各方好評。


8月16至17日 (五至六) 晚上7時30分 高山劇場新翼演藝廳
8月18日 (日) 下午3時 高山劇場新翼演藝廳
stage

票價

 $340

 $260

 $160

附中英文字幕
觀眾務請準時入座,遲到者須待適當時候方可進場。
附設其它延伸活動,詳情請參閱延伸活動版面

節目查詢 : 2268 7325
票務查詢 : 3761 6661
信用卡電話購票 : 2111 5999
網上購票 : www.urbtix.hk

按此瀏覽有關購票優惠

其它演出

京劇南北名家薈萃:中國國家京劇院與上海京劇院

  6月13日至15日丶6月17日至19日

京劇南北名家薈萃:中國國家京劇院與上海京劇院

西九文化區戲曲中心大劇院

新編粵劇 《媚香留情》

  6月21至22日丶6月30日

新編粵劇 《媚香留情》

香港文化中心大劇院
屯門大會堂演奏廳

廣東四合院「大八音丶說唱丶廣東音樂及古腔粵曲」音樂會

  6月25至26日丶7月4至7日

廣東四合院「大八音丶說唱丶廣東音樂及古腔粵曲」音樂會

香港大會堂劇院
西九文化區戲曲中心茶館劇場

福建省梨園戲實驗劇團

  6月28至30日

福建省梨園戲實驗劇團

香港大會堂劇院

江蘇省崑劇院

  7月19至21日

江蘇省崑劇院

西九文化區戲曲中心大劇院

上海越劇院

  7月25至28日

上海越劇院

香港文化中心大劇院

咫尺菊蘭 — 京崑劇場與山東省京劇院

  8月2至4日

咫尺菊蘭 — 京崑劇場與山東省京劇院

西九文化區戲曲中心茶館劇場

arrow arrow